New album Brill Bruisers out August 25 / Listen to the debut track / Fall tour announced

Posted on



The New Pornographers’ highly anticipated new album, Brill Bruisers, will be released August 25th on Matador Records.

Of the album, lead-singer and main songwriter AC Newman comments, “This is a celebration record. After periods of difficulty, I am at a place where nothing in my life is dragging me down and the music reflects that.” Produced by band-member John Collins (bass) with Newman, the 12-track album was recorded primarily at Little Blue in Woodstock, NY and at JC/DC Studios in Vancouver B.C. with additional recording in Austin, Brooklyn and Vermont. Newman adds, “We wanted Xanadu and we wanted Sigue Sigue Sputnik, which translated into sparklier and faster.”

Brill Bruisers track-listing:

1. Brill Bruisers
2. Champions Of Red Wine
3. Fantasy Fools
4. War On The East Coast
5. Backstairs
6. Marching Orders
7. Another Drug Deal Of The Heart
8. Born With A Sound
9. Wide Eyes
10. Dancehall Domine
11. Spidyr
12. Hi-Rise
13. You Tell Me Where


In advance of the release, the title track along with the album’s interactive artwork is available to hear/view/share right here:

Pre-order now at

A limited edition multi-colored “paint splattered” version of the LP is available at The New Pornographers’ web store: Pre-order this limited edition vinyl and receive a 3D poster and 3D glasses (while supplies last).

For Canada, Last Gang Records is doing a neon-glass vinyl with surprise colours! Pre-order here:”  

A fall tour is confirmed in support of the release, including shows at L.A.’s The Wiltern and New York’s Hammerstein Ballroom as well as appearances at Toronto’s Riot Fest and Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest. Tour pre-sale starts  at 10am local time on WednesdayJune 11Click here for details.


Full list of tour dates below:

July 18-20          Pemberton, BC @ Pemberton Music Festival
August 29-31      Edmonton, AB @ Sonic Boom Festival
September 6       Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
September 6-7    Toronto, ON @ Riot Fest
October 5 & 6     Seattle, WA @ The Showbox *
October 8           Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom *
October 9           Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory *
October 10         Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot *
October 11         Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre *
October 13         Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom *
October 14         Tucson, AZ @ Rialto Theatre *
October 15         Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s Pioneertown Palace *
October 17         Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern *
October 18         San Diego, CA @ North Park Theatre *
November 4        Nashville, TN @ Cannery Ballroom *
November 5        Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel *
November 6        Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *
November 7        New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre *
November 7-9     Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest *
November 10      St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant *
November 11      Omaha, NE @ Slowdown *
November 13      Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater *
November 14      Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre *
November 15      Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues *
November 17      New York, NY @ Hammerstein Ballroom *
November 19      Boston, MA @ House of Blues *
November 20      Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
November 21      Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
November 23      Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle *

* with Pains of Being Pure at Heart

(additional tour dates to be announced)

The album cover design was created by Steven Wilson and Thomas Burden. The interactive artwork page was designed by Chris Shier.